Practice Exams:

What 5 Linux Certifications Can You Pursue in 2019?

The demand for the Linux certifications has grown steadily over the years. This is due to their significant impact on the career of many people, as a lot of business servers run on Linux operating systems. Furthermore, the specialists in this field understand the significance of these credentials. They believe it’s a platform that can assist the new professionals in growing in the IT industry in terms of payout and position. Obtaining any of these certificates is essential, especially if you want to get a good job in an organization whose systems run on Linux. Let’s look at the top 5 Linux certifications that you can get in 2019.

1. Linux+

The majority of Linux-based projects require the CompTIA Linux+ certification as a baseline for any potential candidate. To get this certificate, you must pass the XK0-004 exam. The test evaluates your knowledge and hands-on experience of monitoring, supporting, and configuring Linux-based servers. It also covers kernel modules, device management, security, firewalls, networking, command line, and many other topics.

You need to answer 90 questions within 90 minutes and earn 720 points. Please note that you should have the CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Network+ credentials as a prerequisite, along with a year of Linux admin working experience. It is a recommended experience that will greatly help you during this certification exam.


The GCUX credential is another vital certification for the specialists working on Linux and UNIX. A GIAC Certified UNIX Systems Administrator audits and secures both Linux and UNIX systems. This certificate assists the systems administrators to acquire the abilities and skills to complete various tasks. The goal of this certification is to train the professionals to install, configure, and monitor UNIX and Linux systems. You should understand physical security problems as well as password security and how to deploy it on both systems. Since it’s part of SANS, this Linux certificate is recommended to any Linux specialist. It includes over 35 security credentials across various categories.

To get this certificate, you need to take and pass the required exam that comes with 75 questions and 2 hours of allocated time. The passing score is 68%. The certification test also verifies your potential to comprehend and understand chroot() along with your knowledge of how to configure services and its environment.


Another prestigious and in-demand certification related to Linux is Red Hat RHCE. It stands out among other Linux credentials. And you will do the same. There are numerous Red Hat certificates but the senior-level certifications are more well-known than others. Thus, if you intend to advance your career, then you must go for the senior-level credential of this vendor. Once you get it, you can apply for job roles, such as a senior Linux administrator, an IT analyst, a senior system engineer, and a UNIX administrator.

This Linux certification is meant for those professionals who are working in the top positions in the world of IT. Thus, obtaining this credential can be a challenge, but not impossible. To become a Red Hat Certified Engineer, you need to get the RHCSA certificate followed by passing the exam that must be completed within 3 hours 30 minutes. The test is performance-based, including both intense and demanding questions.

4. OCA & OCP

The Oracle Linux OCA & OCP credentials entail obtaining the abilities and skills in working with Oracle technologies and products. They are one of the top Linux certificates you need to pursue. You will be required to take the relevant exam to earn one of these credentials. The tests for them are as follows:

  • The OCA 1Z0-100 exam that is about Oracle Linux 5 and 6 System Administration. The test includes 80 questions and you must get 61% to pass it.
  • The OCP 1Z0-105 exam is about Oracle Linux 6 Advanced System Administration. The test consists of 97 questions and you need to get 61% to pass it.

All in all, the Oracle Linux certifications are available in 6 levels. They include OJA, OCA, OCP, OCM, OCE, OCS. If you want to be hired by a reputable company, make sure you understand all these levels. You also need to ensure you get at least one of these top Linux credentials, as this will determine how you move forward in your career as an IT expert.

5. LPI certifications

The LPI certifications were introduced to the market by Linus Torvalds in 1999. Currently, they have become essential for the Linux specialists who want to advance their career in the IT field. The certificates are available in three levels, which include:

  • LPIC-1: Linux Administrator. This is an intermediate-level Linux credential with no requirements apart from passing the relevant exams. The candidates must pass two tests that cover the necessary skills in Linux, such as installation and configuration of Linux on a workstation. Other skills include conducting maintenance roles and creating LAN and Internet connection.
  • LPIC-2: Linux Engineer. This is the advanced level of Linux certifications that requires the active LPIC-1 credential. It consists of two tests. The first exam covers various areas, such as file systems and devices, kernel, configuration of network, system startup, system maintenance, storage administration, and capacity planning. The other certification test covers email services, domain name services, system security, and troubleshooting.
  • LPIC-3: Linux Enterprise Professional. This is a senior-level credential that requires the active LPIC-2 certificate apart from passing any exam of the 300-xxx series. They include:
  1. 300-100 exam: The mixed environment covers Samba, working with Windows and Linux client, and OpenLDAP.
  2. 303-200 exam: The security exam includes operations and application security. The network topic is covered under the security test, apart from access control and cryptography.
  3. 304-200 exam: This test focuses on virtualization and high availability, which includes cluster storage and management.

Final Thoughts

Linux is gaining popularity every day, and its demand is growing rapidly. It’s important for you to get a Linux certification to boost your career chances in the IT industry. Obtaining any of the credentials is the best way to get access to great job opportunities and career enhancement in terms of position and salary. To get hired in a higher position in the Linux realm, it’s highly recommended that you earn at least two of the above-mentioned Linux certificates.